Seven Summits

It’s called “Seven Summits” the project of climbing the highest peak of each continent, including Antarctica and both North and South America.

The North-American, Dick Bass, was the first to successfully climb to the summits of the tallest mountains of each continent, on 30th April, 1985. His list, nonetheless, includes Mount Kosciuszko in Australia.

This concept of the” Seven Summits” has been widely disputed and there would practically have been the same number of mountaineers reaching all seven summits, considering either Kosciuszko or Carstensz Piramids, as the highest point of Oceania.

Joao Garcia followed Dick Bass project, as he was the first man to claim the seven summits.

Mt Evereste, 8849m

Nepal, Ásia
Cume alcançado em 1999

Mt Aconcágua, 6949m

Argentina, América do Sul
Cume alcançado em 1996

Mt Mc Kinley, 6193m

Alasca, América do Norte
Cume alcançado em 2002

Mt Elbrus, 5642m

Rússia, Europa
Cume alcançado em 2003

Mt Vinson, 4897m

Cume alcançado em 2003

Mt kilimanjaro, 5894m

Tanzânia, Àfrica
Cume alcançado em 2005

Mt Kosciuszko, 2228m

Austrália, Oceania
Cume alcançado em 2010

João Garcia em acampamento coberto de neve